Submitted by WA Contents

WA Awards 41st Cycle is open for entries until 8 July 2022

United Kingdom Architecture News - May 25, 2022 - 15:25   2262 views

WA Awards 41st Cycle is open for entries until 8 July 2022

WA Awards 10+5+X 41st Cycle is now accepting entries! In its 41st Cycle you could be crowned by the prestigious and acclaimed WA Awards.

WA Awards 10+5+X is accepting entries from architects, interior designers and students across the world until 8 July, 2022 (23:59 GMT +0).

Celebrating its 16th year, the WA Awards is one of the most powerful online architecture awards setting a new recognition system based on its more democratized process. Organized 3-4 cycles per year, the WA Awards is seeking for remarkable projects that have the potential to inspire exciting questions about contemporary architectural discourse. 

Over 1,890 projects were crowned with the WA Awards so far

Over 1,890 projects were crowned with the WA Awards in Architecture, Interior Design and Student categories so far.  Zaha Hadid Architects, Sanjay Puri Architects, Studio Symbiosis, VTN Architects, Play Architecture, ROOM+ Design & Build, Davood Boroojeni Office, and more are among the previous winners of the WA Awards. See all WA Awards Winners

WA Awards provides opportunity for all participants and particularly coming from less covered regions

An important aspect of the WA Awards is providing opportunity for participants from all over the world and particularly coming from less covered regions by the public or private media to showcase their offices and projects. 

Another feature of the competition is that there is no single winner. The competition rewards more than one winner in each Cycle.

WA Awards 10+5+X has a standard deadline

WA Awards 10+5+X has a standard deadline at which participants have roughly 3 months to prepare their projects. 

Architects, interior designers, architecture and interior design students can submit their projects until 8 July, 2022 (23:59 GMT +0) by registering to WAC from the page below. It's free!

Create an account or log in to your account to start your entry

WA Awards 41st Cycle is open for entries until 8 July 2022

Winner Posters of the 40th Cycle of WA Awards

Participants can create an account from here with participants' name and surname, then can upload their projects to their WAC Pages and they can submit their works whenever they want before the deadline.

After upload, participants can review their projects and have more time to make corrections if necessary.

Who are eligible members?

Only Architects, Architecture Offices, Interior Designers, Interior Design Offices, Architecture and Interior Design Students are eligible to apply to WA Awards 10+5+X.

What are the categories? 

WA Awards 10+5+X is accepting submissions in limited categories. The competition has 2 sections in the WA Awards: Architecture and Interior Design

Projects are accepted under the 3 sub-categories: Realised, Designed and Student. Participants should make sure to submit their projects that meet the conditions of each category. See category details on this page

WA Awards 10+5+X is free for Students/Academic Members. Students should create an account on WAC as a "Student", and then, they should validate their account as "Academic Member" on their WAC Settings by submitting their official student emails. 

After validation, they can send their projects to the WA Student Award category, with a single project by cycle, free-of-charge. Students should make sure to submit their projects that meet the condition of the WA Student Award category. 

WA Awards 41st Cycle is open for entries until 8 July 2022

Schedule of WA Awards 10+5+X

The WA Awards 10+5+X typically organizes 3-4 cycles per year. Each Cycle covers roughly 3 months or 3.5 months.

Until the deadline, participants can submit their projects. The deadline for submissions for the 41st Cycle is July 8, 2022.

The Voting period is scheduled to open approximately on 11 July. The winners of the 41st Cycle are scheduled to be announced in the first week of August.

Please consult our How to Participate page to learn about the current cycle’s submission deadline.

Who are the WA Awards Jury?

Submitted projects are judged by 2 separate jury panel: WAC Honorary Members with earlier WA Award Winners, the jury who have the most weight in voting. 

WAC's Honorary Members are composed of an exclusive group of invited architects, acclaimed critics, academics and theoreticians, editors of architectural magazines, curators and other experts from architectural centers and other organizations.

Nikos Fintikakis, co-founder of SYNTHESIS AND RESEARCH, acclaimed Indonesian architect Budi Sukada, who is senior lecturer at the University of Tarumanagara, artist and teacher Ruth Jacobson, Alhadeff Architects founder Giancarlo Alhadeff, Sanjay Puri, the founder of Sanjay Puri Architects, are among the WAC's Honorary Members. 

The second jury comprises WAC Members who are architects, interior designers, students and academics. To be able able to Vote the projects, a WAC member must have at least 1 uploaded project that was uploaded minimum 1 month ago in his/her page. 

WA Awards 10+5+X has low pricing policy

The WA Awards 10+5+X program has a low pricing policy. The most important reason of this is to make the WA Awards more accessible by architecture offices, to provide more visibility to small-size offices and to increase participation with their work. In this sense, a balance can be established between large-scale offices and small-scale offices.

For 6 years, World Architecture Community has been keeping the competition entry fees at the same rate.

When you pay per category/per Cycle in the competition, you do not need pay any additional fees.

Find out more about WA Awards 10+5+X fees

Selection process at WA Awards 10+5+X

WA Awards' judging is based on 2 Voting processes: WAC Members' Voting and WAC's Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners Voting. 

Voting, realized by a mixture of WAC's Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners, will determine the first 10 winning projects

The second judging is realized by WAC Members' Voting by the fellow community members of World Architecture Community. Their Votes will decide the next 5 awarded projects.

Both judging procedures, WAC Members' Voting and WAC's Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners Voting, are taking place simultaneously on WA Awards 10+5+X Submissions page. 

WA Awards 10+5+X Winners

Winners of WA Awards will receive a digital, special WA Award Winner Poster and a digital WA Award Certificate that will be made available to the participants in a few weeks after the winners announcement. 

See Winner Posters of the 40th Cycle here - which is shared on WAC's social media channels as well.

Any questions? 

To start your entry and see a visual guidance, visit our How To Participate page. 

If you have further questions about WA Awards 10+5+X, you can contact the WAC team at [email protected].

Top image: UAD 9 Studio's Community Art Gallery Of Plum Bossom in China won the WA Awards in the 40th Cycle. Image © Lei Sun.