Submitted by WA Contents

Aravena named new Chair and Manuela Lucá-Dazio named new Executive Director to the Pritzker Prize

United States Architecture News - Oct 29, 2020 - 20:23   6492 views

Aravena named new Chair and Manuela Lucá-Dazio named new Executive Director to the Pritzker Prize

Alejando Aravena, 2016 Laureate of the Pritzker Prize, has been appointed as Chair of the Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury, while Manuela Lucá-Dazio has been named as an advisor to the Prize and the next Executive Director, beginning in March 2021. 

Today, The Pritzker Architecture Prize has announced that Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena and Manuela Lucá-Dazio will join the Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury. 

The Pritzker Architecture Prize is known internationally as architecture’s highest honor, and this coming year will mark the 43rd year of the accolade.

"Throughout the history of the Prize, we have consistently relied on the diversity, expertise and standing of our jury members to interpret the evolving role of architecture as it responds to the changing needs of community, environment and technology," said Tom Pritzker, Chairman of The Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the award. 

"We are pleased to welcome back Alejandro Aravena, and in a renewed capacity as he brings with him a fresh model of leadership to steward our independent, international and esteemed jury," added Tom Pritzker.

"Likewise, we are delighted to work with Manuela Lucá-Dazio in this new season as we continue our privilege of honoring architects who have impressed upon the industry through the art of architecture and their service to humanity.”

Alejando Aravena is the 2016 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize

Alejando Aravena, 2016 Laureate of the Pritzker Prize, is founder and executive director of ELEMENTAL, a "Do Tank" focusing on projects of public interest and social impact including housing, public space, infrastructure and transportation. 

His mastery of architecture aides his commitment to society, resulting in works and activism that respond to social, humanitarian and economic needs.

"Historically, architecture has been about creating innovative alternatives and imagining possibilities, but it is also intimately connected with society," said Alejando Aravena. 

"As jurors, our task is, first, to be sensitive to those questions society would like the architectural profession to address, and to identify those architects that are trying to use the discipline’s body of knowledge to translate those questions into projects," added Mr. Aravena. 

"I am honored to join this group effort aimed to improve the quality of the built environment," added Aravena. 

Mr. Aravena was the recipient of the 2019 ULI J.C. Nichols Prize, the 2018 RIBA Charles Jencks Award and the first architect to receive the Gothenburg Sustainability Award in 2017. 

He was Curator of the Venice Architecture Biennale 2016 and served on the Pritzker Prize Jury from 2009 to 2015. He is the ELEMENTAL Copec Chair at Universidad Católica de Chile, a former visiting professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design (2000 and 2005), and has taught at Istituto Universitario di Architettura di Venezia (2005). He is a member of the advisory board of the Cities Program of the London School of Economics and is based in Santiago, Chile.

Manuela Lucá-Dazio most recently served as the Executive Director of the Department of Visual Arts and Architecture of Venice Biennale. She has managed exhibitions with distinguished curators, architects, artists, and critics to realize the International Art Exhibition and the International Architecture Exhibition since 2009. Preceding that, she was responsible for the technical organization and production of both Exhibitions beginning in 1999. She holds a PhD in History of Architecture from the University of Roma-Chieti, Italy and lives in Paris, France.

"It is for me an enormous honor to become the next Executive Director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, an essential point of reference in the architecture world, and even more at such a key historical moment for the architectural discourse and practice," said Manuela Lucá-Dazio. 

"I am deeply grateful to Margot and Tom Pritzker for giving me this chance. I look forward to joining the Pritzker Architecture Prize organization, to support its highly prestigious Jury and serve its mission to celebrate the quality in the profession for the enhancement of the built environment and the lives of those who inhabit it."

The Pritzker Architecture Prize stated that Martha Thorne served as an Executive Director since 2005, and she will step down this upcoming March, following the announcement of the 2021Laureate. 

The Pritzker Prize added that "Martha Thorne will remain an advisor to the Prize through the 2021 ceremony to oversee the transition. She will continue her expansive role as Dean of IE School of Architecture and Design, Spain, and looks forward to working with international clients facilitating competitions and architect selection processes."

Of her departure, Ms. Thorne said: "The experience and knowledge gained over the past fifteen years with the Prize has been an enormous privilege. Looking ahead, I am eager to expand my involvement in other initiatives where I can directly affect the field of architecture both working with people and institutions to engage the services of architects and devoting more time to writing."

Alejandro Aravena joins a distinguished class of previous Jury Chairs: Justice Stephen Breyer (2019-2020), who remains as a member of the Jury; Glenn Murcutt (2017-2018); Lord Peter Palumbo (2005-2016) and the late J. Carter Brown (1978-2004). Current jurors also include Barry Bergdoll, a Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University, curator and author, New York, United States; Deborah Berke, architect and Dean of Yale School of Architecture, New York, United States; André Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to India, Delhi; Kazuyo Sejima, architect, educator and 2010 Pritzker Laureate, Tokyo, Japan; Benedetta Tagliabue, architect, Barcelona, Spain; and Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Laureate, Hangzhou, China.

The 2020 Pritzker Prize was most recently awarded to Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, of Dublin, Ireland, and presented during the first-ever video ceremony

The 2021 Laureate will be announced early next spring.

Top image (left): Alejandro Aravena (image © Sergio Lopez, Courtesy of Diario El Mercurio) - (right): Manuela Lucá-Dazio, courtesy of The Pritzker Prize.

> via The Pritzker Architecture Prize