Submitted by WA Contents

Norman Foster to chair RIBA Stirling Prize Jury

United Kingdom Architecture News - Sep 24, 2021 - 11:17   1437 views

Norman Foster to chair RIBA Stirling Prize Jury

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced that Lord Norman Foster will chair of the 2021 Stirling Prize jury. 

Chaired by Lord Foster, the jury is comprised of RIBA President Simon Allford, 2019 RIBA Stirling Prize winner and architect Annalie Riches and artist Dame Phyllida Barlow, advised by sustainability expert and architect Mina Hasman.

The RIBA announced the six strong shortlisted projects for the coveted 2021 RIBA Stirling Prize. The prestigious award is known as the UK's best new building.

The six shortlisted projects include Marks Barfield Architects' modern urban mosque Cambridge Central Mosque, Grafton Architects' new student hub Kingston University London – Town House and Amin Taha's speculative project 15 Clerkenwell Close, which faced demolition in 2019, Stanton Williams's Key Worker Housing, Eddington in Cambridge, Ney & Partners and William Matthews Associates' Tintagel Castle Footbridge for English Heritage in Cornwall and Carmody Groarke's Windermere Jetty Museum in Cumbria.

Norman Foster to chair RIBA Stirling Prize Jury

Windermere Jetty Museum in Cumbria by Carmody Groarke. Image © Christian Richters

"Lord Foster’s reputation as an architecture pioneer, is demonstrated by an extraordinary array of exceptional projects - uniquely including three Stirling Prizes - so we are delighted that he will Chair this year’s RIBA Stirling Prize jury," said RIBA President Simon Allford. 

"Our 2021 shortlist illustrates the ideas, innovation and ambition that underpin great architecture, and there is no doubt that with Lord Foster’s steer, there will be engaging debate and deliberation as we decide the winner."

Norman Foster to chair RIBA Stirling Prize Jury

Tintagel Castle Footbridge for English Heritage in Cornwall by Ney & Partners and William Matthews Associates. Image © David Levene

The jury will visit each of the six projects on the shortlist and together select a winner, which will be announced on Thursday 14 October 2021 at Sir Basil Spence’s Coventry Cathedral, as part of the UK City of Culture 2021 celebrations.

The RIBA Stirling Prize was first awarded in 1996, the award is the UK’s most prestigious architecture award. "Given to the architect of the building thought to be the most significant of the year for the evolution of architecture and the built environment, the RIBA Stirling Prize is judged on a range of criteria including design vision, innovation and originality, capacity to stimulate engage and delight occupants and visitors, accessibility and sustainability, how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction."

Foster + Partners is currently designing a mixed-use masterplan in Chile. The firm also completed a research facility with neurological brain-inspired screen in Jerusalem. The firm also completed LA’s historic movie theatre for new Apple store. 

Top image: Norman Foster © Matt Holyoak

> via RIBA