Submitted by WA Contents

WA Awards 39th Cycle Is Open For Entries Until 8 November 2021

United Kingdom Architecture News - Oct 11, 2021 - 12:13   3424 views

WA Awards 39th Cycle Is Open For Entries Until 8 November 2021

WA Awards 10+5+X 39th Cycle is now accepting entries! The prestigious and acclaimed WA Awards is accepting entries from architects, interior designers and students from all over the world.

The WA Awards is one of the most powerful online architecture awards that sets a new recognition system based on its more democratized process. 

Organized 3-4 cycles per year, the WA Awards recognizes remarkable projects that have the potential to inspire exciting questions about contemporary architectural discourse. 

Based on the WAC's active participation through the WAC Members' Rates and a mixture of WAC's Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners in the judging process, the WA Awards is distinguished from other international web-based awards with the selection of multiple award winners in each Cycle. 

WA Awards 10+5+X has a standard deadline

All submitted projects from all over the world are judged by a panel of star jury, including world-renowned architects, high-profiled academics, top design leaders, as well as WA Awards' previous winners and WA members.

WA Awards 10+5+X follows a standard deadline to accept entries from across the world. 

All architects, interior designers, architecture and interior design students can submit their entries until Monday, November 8,  2021 (23:59 GMT) by registering to WAC from this page. It's free!

Create an account or log in to your account to start your entry

Participants first need to upload their projects to their WAC Pages and they can send their entries whenever they want before deadline.

World Architecture Community has been organizing the WA Awards 10+5+X since 2006 and for over 30 Cycles. The aim of the WA Community Awards is to highlight and recognise remarkable projects that might otherwise remain unnoticed by the international public, yet have the potential to inspire exciting questions about contemporary architectural discourse. 

Hurry up! Enter WA Awards 10+5+X 39th Cycle now!

There are 2 major sections in The WA Awards: Architecture and Interior Design. 

Then projects must be sent under these 3 sub-categories Realised, Designed and Student. All participants should send their projects that meet some specific conditions for each category.

WA Awards is free for Students/Academic Members. Students can create an account on WAC as a Student and they should validate their accounts as "Academic Member" first on their WAC Settings. 

After validation, they can send their entries to the WA Student Award category, with a single project by cycle, free-of-charge.

Students can follow these steps to validate their accounts as Academic Member and send their projects in easiest way. 

Find out more about category details

Schedule of WA Awards 10+5+X

The WA Awards 10+5+X runs typically for 3-4 cycles per year. This gives more breathing room to our jury, while giving participants more time to finalise their projects. Please consult our How to Participate page to learn about the current cycle’s submission deadline.

WA Awards 39th Cycle Is Open For Entries Until 8 November 2021

WA Awards 39th Cycle winner posters

WA Awards Jury

WA Awards' judging is based on 2 selection processes: Rating and Voting. 

Voting is realized by a mixture of WAC's Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners. Their Votes will determine the first 10 winning projects. WAC's Honorary Members are an exclusive group of invited architects, acclaimed critics, academics and theoreticians, editors of architectural magazines, curators and other experts from architectural centers and other organizations, including Nikos Fintikakis, co-founder of SYNTHESIS AND RESEARCH, acclaimed Indonesian architect Budi Sukada, who is senior lecturer at the University of Tarumanagara, artist and teacher Ruth Jacobson, Alhadeff Architects founder Giancarlo Alhadeff, Sanjay Puri, the founder of Sanjay Puri Architects

Rating is realized by the fellow community members of World Architecture Community. Their Rates will decide the next 5 awarded projects. 

Evaluation Criteria

WA Awards' evaluation criteria is based on Novelty, Originality and Creativity in design that reflect and inspire a commitment to the art of architecture are the major criteria. 

World Architecture Community tries to bridge the gap between theory and practice; thus the architect’s explanations and member’s discussions on submissions will be critical for recognition as much as the design itself.

WA Awards sets a very low pricing policy

WA Awards sets a very low pricing policy to provide more visibility and opportunity to small-scale offices, aiming to increase participation for their works.

Participants will see the payment stage after they uploaded their entries and clicked on "Participate Now" button on their My Projects page.

Find out more about WA Awards 10+5+X fees

Selection process

In the fourth month of the cycle, approximately a period of 20 days is reserved for Voting and Rating. 

In the meantime, during the entire 3 months, if participants send their projects from the opening of the Cycle, World Architecture Community's Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners may Vote, while World Architecture Community Members may Rate the projects that were submitted for WA Awards during that Cycle until the cycle is full closed. 

At the end of the Voting and Rating process in the 39th Cycle, the 5 most Rated projects, receiving at least from WAC's 15 individual members, will form the 5 of the 10+5+X. The most Votes projects by Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners will form the 10 of the 10+5+X. 

In order to Rate the projects, a WAC member must have at least 1 uploaded project that was uploaded minimum 1 month ago in his/her page and the project should have been opened to the public by being approved by World Architecture Community.

Finally, the "X" can be those projects, which did not make it to the final selection of 10 or 5, but which had that something "special", that made them worthy of selection and acknowledgement as "X" by the WA Jury.


Winners of WA Awards will receive a digital, special WA Award Winner Poster and a digital WA Award Certificate that will be made available to the participants in a few weeks after the announcement of the winners.

When the Cycle is closed, submitted projects will be featured in an article on WAC to invite the WAC members to Vote and Rate the projects, with a separate email to our members. 

WA Awards Winners will also be announced in a featured article on WAC, as well as sharing the results with our Media Partners and other global publications. 


To start your entry and see a visual guidance, visit our How To Participate page. 

If you have further questions about WA Awards 10+5+X, you can contact the WAC team at [email protected].

Top image in the poster: Time River Experience Center by CLV. Design in China won the WA Award in the 38th Cycle in the Interior Design/Realised category. Image courtesy of CLV. Design.