Submitted by WA Contents

AR Emerging awards – searching for the world’s next architectural talent

United Kingdom Architecture News - Aug 16, 2023 - 16:18   1287 views

AR Emerging awards – searching for the world’s next architectural talent

Launched in 1999, the AR Emerging awards grant early recognition to young designers and celebrates the architectural stars of tomorrow. Established by The Architectural Review in response to the heavy-hitting Gold Medals, Pritzkers, and other lifetime achievement awards, the AR Emerging awards recognise a promising portfolio of work and propels young talent onto the international stage early in their careers.

Previous winners have included Carla Juaçaba, Shigeru Ban, Rick Joy, Ana Heringer, Sou Fujimoto, Thomas Heatherwick, Neri & Hu, Li Xiaodong and Frida Escobedo.

Rather than focusing on a single, completed building, the AR Emerging awards recognise excellence in an overall body of work. They encourage a wide range of design projects: new builds, refurbishments, interiors, furniture, infrastructure and pop-ups, as well as product, urban and landscape design, with no restriction on scale, programme, budget or location.

Why enter the AR Emerging awards:

- Have your work featured in a special edition of The Architectural Review

- Present your work to an acclaimed judging panel in London

- Receive a complimentary pass to the World Architecture Festival in Singapore

- Win a prize fund of £5,000 for your practice

If you are a young architect (45 or under) who is passionate about your work, submit your portfolio by 1 September 2023 for the chance to present your work to the judges in London later this year!


Andy Groarke, Co-founder, Carmody Groarke

Mauricio Rocha, Founder, Taller de Arquitectura Mauricio Rocha

More judges to be announced soon!

Check the Judges page to see updates. 

Find out more about AR Emerging awards

Top image courtesy of AR Emerging awards.

> via AR Emerging awards