Submitted by WA Contents

Jeanne Gang named as 2017 Marcus Prize Recipient

United States Architecture News - Sep 21, 2017 - 11:14   11035 views

Jeanne Gang named as 2017 Marcus Prize Recipient

American architect and MacArthur Fellow Jeanne Gang, FAIA, founding principal of Studio Gang has been named as the recipient of the 2017 Marcus Prize. Awarded biennially by the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning in partnership with the Marcus Corporation Foundation, the prize is given to architects who have "a trajectory to greatness".

The $100,000 cash prize will go to a design studio at the school that will be collaboratively led by Jeanne Gang. For this award, nominees require to demonstrate at least ten years of proven, exceptional practice. Jeanne Gang was selected from a pool of international nominees from 16 countries across 4 continents. 

Initiated in 2005, previous winners include MVRDV's co-founder Winy Maas, Frank Barkow, Pritzker Prize-winner Alejandro Aravena, Diébédo Francis Kéré, and Sou Fujimoto. In 2015, Joshua Prince-Ramus was announced the winner of this prize. 

Jeanne Gang named as 2017 Marcus Prize Recipient

Studio Gang's apartment building in Chicago, USA. Image © Steve Hall / Hedrich Blessing

The jury members included Frances Bronet, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs at Illinois Institute of Technology; John Czarnecki, Editor-in-Chief of Contract Magazine; Anne Rieselbach, Program Director at the Architectural League of New York; David Marcus, CEO of Marcus Investments and Robert Greenstreet, Dean, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning.

Jeanne Gang named as 2017 Marcus Prize Recipient

Studio Gang's Writers Theatre in Glencoe, IL ,USA. Image © Steve Hall / Hedrich Blessing

Jury member John Czarnecki commented that she "is adept at outstanding design for all scales–from the neighborhood and urban scale to the detail of buildings and interior elements. Her practice combines design thinking about the impact of architecture and urban design on cities as well as the creation of beautiful buildings rooted in context that will stand the test of time."

"Ms. Gang is internationally renowned for a design process that foregrounds the relationships between individuals, communities, and environments. Her diverse body of work spans scales and typologies, expanding beyond architecture’s conventional boundaries to pursuits ranging from the development of stronger materials to fostering stronger communities," stated the organization committee.

Jeanne Gang named as 2017 Marcus Prize Recipient

The Arcus Center for Social Justice in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Image courtesy of Studio Gang

"The Marcus Prize is a part of our ongoing commitment to support the growth and development of Milwaukee," said Steve Marcus, CEO of the Marcus Corporation and a director of the Marcus Corporation Foundation, adding that excellence in design has a large impact on the reputation of the city.

Jeanne Gang's latest installation - called Hive - was exhibited at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C, as part of the museum's Summer Block Party program. Gang is currently working on American Museum of Natural History expansion

The architect is also among the participants to exhibit the U.S. Pavilion for the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale alongside Amanda Williams & Andres L. Hernandez (Chicago, IL), Design Earth (Cambridge, MA), Diller Scofidio + Renfro (New York, NY), Estudio Teddy Cruz + Fonna Forman (San Ysidro, CA), Keller Easterling (New Haven, CT) and SCAPE (New York, NY).

> via Marcus Prize