Submitted by WA Contents

Call for Nominations: 2016 IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award

Belgium Architecture News - Aug 03, 2015 - 17:14   3841 views

Call for Nominations: 2016 IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award

The IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award is the highest honour that the International Federation of Landscape Architects can bestow upon a landscape architect. The Award recognises a living landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and on the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture. The award is bestowed annually on an individual whose work and achievements merit this recognition. 


The annual award is open to landscape architects throughout the world. The nominee must be an academic, public or private practitioner whose merit, talent and actions are respected internationally. Accomplishments may be in such aspects of the profession as landscape planning, design or management; improvement in the quality of human settlements or environments; or landscape architectural education. 

Nomination of Candidates

Candidates may be nominated by IFLA Member Associations, delegates, individual members and allied organizations, as well as independent sources. 

Nomination Information

Nominations must include the following information:

1.A letter of nomination describing the nominee’s qualifications for the award, including his/her academic background and achievements, a summary of his/her work and its scope, and a review of the way that this work has contributed to the profession of landscape architecture and its international practice. This should include the nominee’s education and highlights of his/her experience in teaching and lecturing, research/ innovation, practice, professional organizations, publishing, and any other international pursuits. The letter must be no more than three pages in length. (See Nomination Committee below for additional information to be requested from final candidates for the Award.)

2. A letter of support, including confirmation that nominee is a member in good standing, from the nominee's member association, or a letter of reference from another source attesting to the fact that the candidate is qualified to work in the field of landscape architecture, and that the documents presented are a true reflection of the candidate’s contribution to the profession, must be submitted if someone other than the member association is the nominator.

3. Contact information for both the nominator(s) and nominee, including name, address, email address and phone contact information.

4. All nomination material must be submitted in English. 

Submission of Nominations – Due October 24, 2015

Nominations for the Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award must be submitted electronically to the Administrative Headquarters of the International Federation of Landscape Architects in care of:

Ben Roberts, Director, International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA) [email protected] Tel: +32 495 568 285 

Candidate Selection

The award recipient will be identified through a nomination and jury selection process.

In agreeing to be nominated, candidates must also agree to present a lecture on their work at the IFLA World Congress, and/or other suitable fora, in the event of winning the award, and that they are willing to travel to the 2016 IFLA World Congress in Turin, Italy from April 20-23, 2016 to accept the award. A candidate may be nominated for the award up to three times in succeeding years, and may be nominated again after a break of two years 

Awards Jury

The Awards Jury comprises 5-7 members - a Chair and at least one member from each region of IFLA. The World Council may appoint a “Guest Member” from an allied profession for a one year term. The Jury adopts its own working procedures, establishing criteria for assessment in terms of the purpose of the Award and the categories of nominations. Upon completion of their work, the Jury submits a written report to the IFLA President. The report and its result remain confidential until the award winner has been officially announced by the IFLA President at the 2016 IFLA World Congress. 

For more information please visit website

> via