Submitted by WA Contents

Moshe Safdie and Ma Yansong to discuss Rethinking High Density Housing in Design Disruptions

India Architecture News - Jun 12, 2020 - 13:51   2939 views

Moshe Safdie and Ma Yansong to discuss Rethinking High Density Housing in Design Disruptions

The Urban Vision, founded by Architect Prathima Manohar, Sam Lubell and she are co-hosting an online Webinar and Podcast bi-monthly series, called Design Disruptions

In the first episode, Moshe Safdie, founder of Cambridge, USA based Safdie Architects, and Ma Yansong, founder of Beijing and Los Angeles-based MAD architects, will discuss "Rethinking High Density Housing".

The COVID-19 Pandemic is a disruptive moment for our world, and it’s poised to spur transformative shifts in design, from how we experience our homes and offices to the plans of our cities. The webcast and podcast series Design Disruption will explore these shifts—and address other disruptive issues like climate change, inequality, and the housing crisis— through chats with visionaries like architects, designers, planners and thinkers; and by putting forward creative solutions; reimagining the future of living and built environment.

Episode 1 - Rethinking High Density Housing

Design Disruptions' guests will be Moshe Safdie, founder of Cambridge, USA based Safdie Architects, and Ma Yansong, founder of Beijing and Los Angeles-based MAD architects. 

Safdie changed how the world thinks about high density housing with Habitat, a pavilion for Montreal’s Expo 67 that incorporated prefabricated construction and public and private outdoor spaces into a highly intricate multi family residence. 

He’s recently built new Habitat projects in Singapore, China, and Sri Lanka. Ma is inspired by the ideals of  “Shanshui City,” which entails  harmonizing nature, the urban landscape, and society in novel ways through architecture. He has explored typological alternatives for urban housing, like hybrid urban courtyard concepts and high density vertical villages. 

The series is co-hosted by New York-based architectural writer Sam Lubell, who has written ten books about architecture, and contributes regularly to the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, and Architectural Digest; and Bangalore-based Social Entrepreneur Prathima Manohar, founder of think-do-tank The Urban Vision. 

Design Disruptions' goal is to provide an international perspective, mixing guests from different continents. ArchDaily is the main media partner on this series.

Program

Date: June 15, 2020

Time: 8:30 pm IST /4:00 pm GMT / 11:00 am EST / 8am PST.

Watch on YouTube. Watch on Facebook. RSVP here

Top image courtesy of The Urban Vision

> via The Urban Vision