Submitted by WA Contents

Entry deadline extended to the World Architecture Community Awards 26th Cycle

United Kingdom Architecture News - Oct 16, 2017 - 14:08   11643 views

Entry deadline extended to the World Architecture Community Awards 26th Cycle

We have given you extra time to submit your entries for the World Architecture Community Awards 26th Cycle - all entries must now be submitted by Sunday, October 22, 2017. This gives you an extra one week to send your submissions and be in with the chance of winning this prestigious WA Awards to become globally recognised.

Since 2006 and for over 20 Cycles, World Architecture Community organises the prestigious and acclaimed WA Awards 10+5+X. The aim of the WA Community Awards is to highlight and recognise remarkable projects that might otherwise remain unnoticed by the international public, yet have the potential to inspire exciting questions about contemporary architectural discourse. WA Awards 26th Cycle, Deadline extended to October 22, 2017. 

WA Awards accepts submissions in 3 distinct categories:

WA Designed Award: Projects that were not built,

WA Realised Award: Projects that are actually built,

WA Student Award: Projects designed by Students,

Evaluation Criteria

Novelty, Originality and Creativity in design that reflect and inspire a commitment to the art of architecture are the major criteria. World Architecture Community tries to bridge the gap between theory and practice; thus the architect’s explanations and member’s discussions on submissions will be critical for recognition as much as the design itself.

Timetable & Calendar

The timetable for our 3 cycles per year is identical between cycles. The first three months as of the announcement of the new cycle, you are welcome to upload and submit your projects for WA Awards consideration. 

The fourth month of the cycle will be for the WA Jury to evaluate and vote (the first 10 of the 10+5+X). In the meantime, during the entire 4 months, World Architecture Community members may rate the projects that were submitted for WA Awards consideration and at the end of the cycle, once the 4 months are passed, the 5 most rated projects by World Architecture Community members would form the second 5 of the 10+5+X. Within the same time, the WA Jury may also chose some projects as the "X" part of the 10+5+X.

WA Awards Jury comprises of acclaimed Architects, Academic Members, Global Leaders

The WA Jury, composed by a mixture of our Honorary Members and earlier WA Award Winners, will select the first 10. The next 5 will be awarded based on the ratings of fellow community members of World Architecture Community. Finally, the "X" will be those projects, which did not make it to the final selection of 10 or 5, but which had that something "special", that made them worthy of selection and acknowledgement as "X" by the WA Jury.

Suha Ozkan, Founder and President of World Architecture Community, Michael Sorkin, Architect, Founder of Terreform, Farshid Moussavi, Founder of Farshid Moussavi Architecture and Professor at Harvard GSD, Emre Arolat, Co-founder of Emre Arolat Architecture, Wold D.Prix, Principal of Coop Himmelb(l)au, Deniz Incedayı, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Deniz Incedayi at Mimar Sinan Fine Arts in Istanbul, Kenneth Frampton, Ware Professor of Architecture at Columbia GSAPP and many more..

Pricing and benefits information for all WAC plans can be seen from here.

Is it too long? No worries! 

It takes 4 (+1) Easy Steps to Participate to the WA Awards.

If you are a student who wants to participate to the WA Awards, then follow these instructions!

You can peruse World Architecture Community's previous winners for the 25th Cycle

Top image: Messner Mountain Museum Corones by Zaha Hadid Architects, winner of WA Awards 23rd Cycle