Submitted by WA Contents

LIT Lighting Design Awards 2023

Switzerland Architecture News - Jan 27, 2023 - 21:38   1573 views

LIT Lighting Design Awards 2023

The LIT Lighting Design Awards is now accepting submissions for its annual event, recognizing and celebrating the best in lighting design from around the world.

For the 7th edition, the LIT Lighting Design Awards is now featuring a new section dedicated to Entertainment Lighting Design. This award is a powerful cross-disciplinary platform from which to promote your designs to a truly international market.

With 31 categories in Architectural Lighting Design, 15 categories in Entertainment Lighting Design and 44 categories in Lighting Product Design represented, the program is one of the most comprehensive lighting design competitions, uniting creativity, and innovation.

In 2022, the program received over 650 submissions from 51 countries, and the range of work was astonishing, L'Observatoire International was awarded the "Lighting Design of the Year" title for the Hermès’ collections at Milan Design Week 2022 and  Expolight won the "Lighting Product Design of the Year" award for the Chandelier in the B14 UNIT. City business space. Other winners in Lighting Design included Licht Kunst Licht, brandston partnership inc, dpa Lighting Consultants,Lucent Lighting Design and Consulting and Light Collab. Nominees in Lighting Product category were Maytoni, Ayrton,  Nulty Bespoke, BuzziSpace, A-Light and many more.

The LIT Design Awards also recognizes the importance of sustainability in lighting design and designers can now share their approach as a way to consider the long-term effects of lighting solutions on natural resources and the carbon footprint.

"At the LIT Lighting Design Awards, we strive to promote diversity and innovative designs globally; looking at new innovative Architectural Lighting solutions, contemporary Light Art Projects and latest Lighting product installations." said Program Director, Astrid Hébert. "We are proud to support professionals, both established and emerging, as they develop new sustainable approaches. Join us in 2023 as we continue to showcase Lighting excellence.."

The 2023 jury, composed of 35 experienced designers, lighting experts, academics and media representatives will select the winners in each category in November 2023. 

See LIT Design Awards Jury Members

Past jurors have included Roland Greil from Roland Greil & The Black Project, Emmy Award Winner Peter Morse; Randy Reid, Editor at designing lighting (dl), Sally Storey, Creative Director at John Cullen Lighting and Founding Director at Lighting Design International, Martin Klaasen from Klaasen Lighting Design and Lighting Design of Things and Monica Luz Lobo, Creative Director at LD Studio and President-elect of IALD.

Winners will receive extensive publicity over the next year to present their design vision to a global audience. The LIT Awards 2023 recipients will be featured in the annual Book of Design, which will be distributed worldwide: They will also receive the LIT Lighting Design Awards certificate and badge of achievement, as well as a year-round profile in the LIT Awards Online Directory. Participating in the awards process can be a valuable learning experience, allowing companies to see how their work compares to others in the industry and providing insight into areas for improvement.

Lighting designers and implementers can take advantage of the 10% Early Bird discount for submissions made before April 24th, 2022. For more information and to submit the work, please visit the competition's website


10% Early Bird discount until April 24th, 2023

5% Extended Early Bird discount until July, 15th, 2023

Regular Deadline: September 2nd, 2023

Final Deadline: September 30th (10% late fee applies) till October 22nd, 2023

The program will close on October 22nd, 2023

About LIT Lighting Design Awards:

The LIT Lighting Design Awards is a sibling program of the BLT Built Design Awards (BLT), the SIT Furniture Design Award (SIT) and the LIV Hospitality Design Awards (LIV) which have emerged as some of the most well-known Design Prize today. 

More information can be found at LIT Lighting Design Awards

Top image: Winner 2022 The Schwarzman Center Renovation at Yale University by LObservatoire International. Photo © Francis Dzikowski Otto.

> via LIT Lighting Design Awards