Submitted by WA Contents

THE DRAWING BOARD, an international competition for architecture students

India Architecture News - Aug 19, 2022 - 15:06   2846 views

THE DRAWING BOARD, an international competition for architecture students

The Drawing Board is an international architecture platform based in India. 

TDB 2022

This year's design challenge is in honour of Ar. Charles Correa, an architect who is known across the globe.

Design Challenge

“Like a trail that a snail leaves in its wake as it inches forward, over the years an architect leaves behind a body of work, generated by the attitudes he gradually accumulates towards the agendas he deals with”.
-Ar.Charles Correa 

Correa through his work emphasizes on the tangible parameters such as climate, culture and resources. In addition to this he constantly depicts the idea of metaphysical role in the spaces we create.

Tribute to unparalleled legacy:  This competition aims at creating a memorial for Ar. Charles Correa. With a deeply rooted context consisting of one of Correa’s most celebrated work, the design can either be a dialogue with it or even be a structure of gratitude. The design must stand testimony to Correa’s work.


Submission's Last Date: 1st Oct 2022

Finalist Announcement: 8th Oct 2022

Finale: 22nd Oct 2022


Prof. Durganand Balsavar, Goa, India

Ar. Henri Comrie, Cape Town, South Africa

Ar. Sachin Agshikar, Mumbai, India

What is The Drawing Board Competition?

The fundamental goal of this work is to provide a platform for students to grasp the crucial role played by architecture in determining the way communities grow. It was conceived as an attempt to provide architectural students with real-world design issues in real-world settings.

There are two phases to the competition. Students are required to submit their design presentations online in the first phase. In the second stage, the top eight entries, as determined by a panel of judges, are given the opportunity to present themselves in person to an architectural jury. Soumitra Ghosh, Naresh Medappa, Bijoy Ramachandran, Rahul Kadri, Sanjay Patil, Prasanna Desai, Rahul Gore, Takaharu Tezuka, Bijoy Jain, Neelkanth Chhaya, Peter Stutchbury, and Rupali Gupte have all been a part of this initiative in the previous years.

The competition is organized by Rohan Builders and Mindspace Architects.

Top image courtesy of The Drawing Board Competition.

> via The Drawing Board Competition