Submitted by WA Contents

Call for registrations to Al Nouri Mosque International Architecture Competition

Iraq Architecture News - Nov 23, 2020 - 11:33   10506 views

Call for registrations to Al Nouri Mosque International Architecture Competition

UNESCO with the support of the Government of United Arab Emirates, the Prime Minister of Iraq and the UN Secretary-General, has announced the launch of an international, single stage, open and anonymous architecture competition for the Reconstruction & Rehabilitation of the Al Nouri Complex in Mosul, Iraq

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has endorsed the competition, which is part of UNESCO’s initiative called "Revive the Spirit of Mosul", a call for the restoration of one of Iraq’s iconic cities.

The Rehabilitation of Al Nouri Mosque Complex calls for a conceptual design for the construction of new buildings with diverse functions; the rehabilitation of all three of its historical buildings and their integration into the new designs; and the landscaping design of the entire site. By creating new spaces dedicated to the community - for education, social and cultural activities - the project envisions a space to serve community beyond its principal religious function.

The Reconstruction of Al Nouri Prayer Hall calls for the concept design for conserving the remaining, standing structure of the prayer hall and its integration into the new building, which is a reconstruction of the prayer hall, as it was in 2017 before its destruction.

Call for registrations to Al Nouri Mosque International Architecture Competition

Reconstruction of ancient Niniveh, situated on the eastern bank of the Tigris River from Hutchinson’s History of the Nations,1915. Image courtesy of UIA.

Call for registrations to Al Nouri Mosque International Architecture Competition

Al Nouri Mosque (Prayer Hall) in winter 2020. Image © UNESCO


  • Howayda Al-Harithy (Saudi Arabia), Professor of architecture & design and Director of the School of Design at the American University of Beirut
  • Ahmed Yousif Mahmood Alomary (Iraq), Department head, architectural engineering, University of Mosul
  • Raya Ani (Iraq), Architect, RAW-NYC Architects
  • Xavier Casanovas (Spain), Professor and expert in sustainable regeneration, Polytechnic University of Catalonia
  • Amel Chabbi (United Arab Emirates), Head of Conservation, Departement of Culture & Tourism, Abu Dhabi
  • Shahira Fahmy (Egypt), Architect, Shahira Fahmy Architects
  • Dominique Perrault (France), Architect, Dominique Perrault Architecture
  • Wang Shu (China), Architect, Amateur Architecture Studio, UIA Representative,
  • Marina Tabassum (Bangladesh), Architect, Marina Tabassum Architects
  • Jerzy Uścinowicz (Poland), Professor, Bialystok University of Technology, UIA Representative


Five awards will be allocated:

First prize: 50,000 USD

Second prize: 30,000 USD

Third prize: 20,000 USD

Fourth prize: 15,000 USD

Fifth prize: 10,000 USD

The jury may also allocate honorary mentions at its discretion for entries with special merit.


The official language of the competition is English.


Launch: 16 November 2020

Registration Deadline: 31 December 2020 (23:59 GMT)

Deadline for entries: 26 March 2021

Jury Meeting: 4-11 April 2021

Announcement of the Winner: 15 April 2021

Competitors will have the opportunity to ask questions to the Secretariat by email at: [email protected].

Read more details on the competition's website

Top image: Aerial view during rubble removal works in the Al Nouri Complex (2020). Image © UNESCO

> via UNESCO & UIA