Submitted by WA Contents

40 Under 40 Award announces the Best Emerging Young Architects & Designers in Europe

Greece Architecture News - May 24, 2019 - 04:08   12471 views

40 Under 40 Award announces the Best Emerging Young Architects & Designers in Europe

40 Under 40 Awards, organized by the European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies and the Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design, has announced the best emerging young architects & designers in Europe for 2018-2019. 40 Under 40 is an annual awards program that celebrates the next new talented generation of European architects. 

The "Europe 40 Under 40" program was initiated by The European Center as an annual program to spotlight and identify the next generation of architects and designers who will impact future living and working environments, cities, and rural areas. 

The program's aim is to bring wider recognition to 40 of the most promising emerging architects working in the European Union and other countries inside Europe, fostering and encouraging new talent and new creative thinking at the forefront of tomorrow's profession.

Daan Roosegaarde, founder of Studio Roosegaarde, Ewelina Jaskulska, founder of ARTECTONICA, Roberto De Una of A6A, Alper Derinbogaz, founder of Salon/Alper Derinbogaz, Andrew Clancy, co-founder of Clancy Moore Architects are among this year’s most promising and emerging design talents for the 40 Under 40 Awards.

Spread across Europe, the selected young recipients for the 2018 Europe 40 Under 40 come from Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovenia, Spain and Turkey. 

The laureates selected for 2018 that provide an insight of the architectural scene in Europe with alphabetical order and per country are:

Tom Hindryckx - LOW architecten, (Belgium)
Thomas Bouchet - Bouchet & Launay-Figures, (France)
Arnaud Dambrine & Emmanuel De France - Oglo, (France)
Guillaume De Martinis - Vallet De Martinis, (France)
Roberto De Una - A6A, (France)
Franck Dibon - Atelier RAMDAM, (France)
Baptiste Franceschi - OH! SOM ARCHITECTES, (France)
Guillaume Girod - SPACES Architecture, (France)
Francis Jacquier - Atelier Archiplein sàrl, (France)
Jasmine Kenniche Le Nouëne - JKLN ARCHITECTE, (France)
Etienne Manenc - Guiraud-Manenc, (France)
Camille Mourier - Bureau FaceB, (France)
Jérémy Nadau - Nadau Architectes, (France)
Alexandre Plantady - LINEUP Architecture, (France)
Thomas Quenault - Daarchitectes, (France)
Nicolas Reymond - NRAU, (France)
Julien Rouby - Rhb architectes, (France)
Régis Roudil - Atelier Régis Roudil Architectes, (France)
Marie Caroline Thebault - Anthracite Architecture 2.0, (France)
Nicolas TheBault - Anthracite Architecture 2.0, (France)
Juliane Eckstein - Beyerdynamic GmbH & Co. KG, (Germany)
Dirk U. Moench - INUCE (Germany)
Antonis Gavalas - Gavalas Architects, (Greece)
Konstantinos Pyliotis - P4architecture, (Greece)
Alexandros Zomas - Micromega, (Greece)
Andrew Clancy - Clancy Moore Architects, (Ireland)
David Leech - David Leech Architects, (Ireland)
Michaela Wolf - Bergmeisterwolf, (Italy)
Daan Roosegaarde - Studio Roosegaarde, (Netherlands)
Ewelina Jaskulska - ARTECTONICA, (Poland)
Diogo Aguiar - Diogo Aguiar Studio, (Portugal)
Bruno André - AND-RÉ, (Portugal)
Filipa Frois Almeida & Reis, Hugo - FAHR 021.3, (Portugal)
Raulino Silva - Raulino Silva Arquitecto Unipessoal, Lda, (Portugal)
Tatyana Osetskaya - ARCHSLON, (Russia)
Matic Lašič - EFEKT arhitektura d.o.o., (Slovenia)
Carlos Faci - Faci Leboreiro, (Spain)
Marcelo Ruiz Pardo - Ruiz Pardo - Nebreda, (Spain)
Alper Derinboğaz - Salon/Alper Derinbogaz, (Turkey)
Emir Drahsan - Emir Drahsan Architecture / Planning, (Turkey)

The forty architects and designers of 2018 were selected by a jury composed by some of the most prestigious architecture academics of The National School of Architecture of Paris - Belleville / École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Paris-Belleville (ENSAPB). 

"This year's awarded Europe 40 Under 40," stated Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, Museum President, The Chicago Athenaeum, "are some of the brightest and most progressive architects and designers ever selected in this program over the years. Their work is highly innovative, densely imaginative, and full of a new spirit that characterizes European design today."

More specifically, this year’s jury was comprised of Bita Azimi, Gaëlle Breton, Paul Gresham, Anne Grillet-Aubert, Ιoannis Karalias, Αghis Pangalos, Herve Roux, James Saywell.

Europe 40 Under 40 exhibition’s opening will take place in June 13th, 2019 at European Centre in Athens, Greece. Afterwards, the exhibition is planned to be hosted in Paris. For more information about the jury, the architects, the designers and their works, please visit here

Top image courtesy of European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies

> via European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies